About This Journal

The Spectrum: A Scholars Day Journal -- Founders Statement

The Spectrum: A Scholars Day Journal, is a faculty juried, cross-disciplinary, electronic journal.Its goal is the publication of outstanding, student produced scholarship presented at the College at Brockport annual Scholars Day. Scholars Day, which was instituted in 1984, is an annual celebration of scholarly pursuits by the campus community.

Scholars Day enables students to present scholarly and creative work; to practice disciplinary techniques of public presentation; to learn from fellow scholars and artists across the disciplines; to engage with members of the college community in educationally meaningful events; and to support a college culture of intellectual initiative and academic excellence.

A 2010-11 faculty learning community studying student leadership conceptualized The Spectrum as a means to harness student's Scholars Day contributions as emblematic of leadership and engagement outcomes, and to cultivate an ethos of scholarly rigor and creative thought inspired across disciplines and schools. The word "spectrum," in definition, is a broad range of varied but related ideas or objects with individual features that tend to overlap. The Spectrum: A Scholars Day Journal captures this array and its intersections, holding at its core the multidisciplinary reach of intellectual discovery and scholastic exchange.

This inaugural publication of The Spectrum represents only a small sampling of 2011 Scholars Day presentations. We expect subsequent editions to capture the extraordinary breadth and scope of Brockport's finest Scholars Day work. As an extension to nearly three decades of Scholars Day activities, The Spectrum: A Scholars Day Journal seeks to elevate and preserve student produced knowledge growing out of a vibrant, diverse College at Brockport teaching and learning community.

The Spectrum: A Scholars Day Journal

Founding Statement: Barbara LeSavoy, PhD
Contributing Editors: Maura Keefe, PhD, Lauren Lieberman, PhD

2011-12 Editorial Board

Barbara LeSavoy, PhD, Women and Gender Studies
Lauren Lieberman, PhD, Kinesiology, Sport Studies, and Physical Education
Maura Keefe, PhD, Dance
Anne Panning, PhD, English
Ralph Black, PhD, English
Sara DiDonato, MFA, Art
Lori Forzano, PhD, Psychology
Jessica Sniatecki, PhD, Health Science

2010-11 Faculty Learning Community on Student Leadership

Lauren Lieberman PhD, Kinesiology, Sport Studies, and Physical Education, FLC Chair
Barbara LeSavoy PhD, Women and Gender Studies
Ruth Childs, MFA, Theatre
Jie Zhang, PhD, Education and Human Development
Leah Barrett, MBA, Enrollement Management and Student Affairs
Lynda Sperazza, PhD, Recreation and Leisure Studies
Jim Zollweg, PhD, Earth Sciences
Pam Neely, PhD, Business Administration and Economics
With special thanks and appreciation to Christopher Price, PhD, Director, Center for Excellence in Learning

Proofreaders for this volume

Lucie Jutsum
Caroline Lamarque
Marielys Burgos-Melendez
Mary Jo Orzech